The Development Studies Association of Australia (DSAA) represents the community of scholars and practitioners engaged in research, teaching, and training in, and in relation to, Development Studies.


The DSAA is registered as an Association under Consumer Affairs Victoria under the Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012. A link to the rules of the Association can be found here.

The Committee acknowledges the financial support critical to establishing the DSAA from: Australian National University, Deakin University, Institute of Global Development UNSW Sydney, University of Melbourne, and Western Sydney University.

Current committee members

The current committee elected on 12 June 2019 are:

Tanya Jakimow (President)
UNSW Sydney: Read more

Bina Fernandez (Vice-President)
University of Melbourne: Read more

Anthony Ware (Secretary)
Deakin University: Read more

Joyce Wu (Treasurer)
Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University: Read more

Lauren Tynan (Student Representative)
Macquarie University

Philippa Smales (Industry Member)
Research for Development Impact Network (RDI Network): Read more

Nichole Georgeou (Ordinary Member)
Western Sydney University: Read more

Kearrin Sims (Ordinary Member)
James Cook University: Read more

Rochelle Spencer (Ordinary Member)
Murdoch University: Read more

Vicki-Ann Ware (Ordinary Member)
Deakin University: Read more

Our Logo

Across the Australian continent, three concentric circles are often used to symbolise a meeting place, camp site or watering hole for Aboriginal Peoples. In this logo, the three concentric circles ripple out in a dotted line to represent the many connections that extend beyond our meeting places toward the oceans (blue lines) and lands (brown lines) where we work and build relationships. The design elements were developed by Lauren Tynan. Lauren is a Tasmanian Aboriginal woman, grown up on the East Coast of Australia, and early career researcher in Development Studies.

Other Relevant Organisations

The DSAA works with and alongside other organisations, including: